The Alpine Historical Society works closely with the schools in Alpine to ensure the rich history of the community is passed on to the younger generation.
Each year the local schools are invited to participate in an essay contest–a part of the third grade unit on local history. All participants are invited to the Alpine History Day Celebration in June and prizes are awarded to the winners. The children are amazing!
Alpine’s schools have always been a strong force in the community. The following illustrates the influence schools have had on Alpine.
A Brief History of Alpine Schools
Alpine School District
Alpine Union School District
1931 – The Center and the Viejas School Districts merge and an additional classroom was added onto the one-room schoolhouse.
1934 – The Alpine Center School District became the Alpine Union School District.
1940 – School built next to the one-room schoolhouse.
1953 – Alpine Elementary School built for 500 students on Alpine Boulevard.
1953 – A single-engine plane crashed into the one-room schoolhouse.
1957 – The one-room schoolhouse was demolished.
1960 – Harbison Canyon School built near the site of the first Webb school. School later renamed Chaparral, then Joan MacQueen Middle School.
1986 – Shadow Hills Elementary School opened next to Joan MacQueen Middle School.
1990 – Boulder Oaks Elementary School opened on Tavern Road.
2001 – A new Joan MacQueen Middle School opened on Tavern Road. Shadow Hills Elementary School moved into the old Joan MacQueen School. The original Shadow Hills School became the Creekside Early Learning Center for early intervention and kindergarten.
From the Webb’s first school and the Foss’ lean-to
structure, the school district has grown to three
elementary schools, a middle school, an early learning center and a high school in the future.